Troop 516's
Home Page
New Parents
Eagle's Nest
First Class Badge
Merit Badge Wrksht
Helpful Links

Boy Scout Troop 516
(Elizabethton, Tennessee)
ScoutLander Contact Our Troop Member Login

Meaning of the first Class Badge

The first class scout badge is obtained after one has completed the Tenderfoot and Second Class Ranks. After obtaining First Class, almost all of the basic skills have been taught and tested. Additional skills are obtained through Merit Badges, especially Eagle- Required ones.

In addition, 1st class scouts are now available to be elected to OA (The Order of the Arrow), Scouting's National Honor Society, and are eligible to take on leadership roles

The Shape:
The three-point design of the top half is like the north point of an old sailor's compass. This shows that a Scout is able to point the right way in life a truly as the compass points it in the field.

Three Point:
The three points of the trefoil are like the three fingers used in the Scout sign. They stand for the three parts of the Scout Oath; duty to God & County; duty to others; duty to yourself.
Eagle & Shield:
The eagle and shield, national emblem of that US, stand for freedom and a Scouter's readiness to defend that freedom.
Two Stars:
The two stars stand for truth and knowledge of the Scouting movement. They guide you by night and suggest a Scout's outdoor life.
The scroll is turned up at the ends to remind us of the corner of a Scout's mouth raised in a smile as he does his duty. The Scout motto is printed across the scroll.

The knot attached to the bottom of the scroll represents in the Scout slogan, Do a Good Turn Daily. Learn to Tie the Knot